Konica Minolta magicolor 2430DL/2530DL drum cartridge end of life

(This article has been updated)

It can be jolly annoying to be printing away at the end of a hard day and to then find that your Konica Minolta 2530 DL printer decides it has had enough and it is not going to print for you because the OPC drum cartridge has reached ‘end of life’. Okay the warning has probably been flashing for the last 500 pages and you meant to do something about it, but it is 11pm and you need that document.

This article will show you how you can reset the error message and get that document printed. I discovered the answer here but I thought some pictures would probably help.

(The 2430DL and other Konica Minolta 2400/2500 series printers use the same parts so this should be just as applicable to them)

Obviously you do all the following steps at your own risk.

So the display shows

Drum cartridge
end of life

(I should have taken a picture, shouldn’t I!)

Firstly where is the OPC drum cartridge?

Open the top of the printer using the handle underneath the exit paper tray.

Inside the printer you can see the green handle of the OPC drum cartridge. The OPC drum cartridge collects the waste toner and eventually fills up. The printer calculates when it should be full and displays the warning that it is end of life. It isn’t, it is just a calculation and you can eek more life out of the cartridge until it is really full.

For the record I reckon you actually get about 6500 pages from a drum cartridge if you are married to a primary school teacher, with about the last 500 from a drum which is stated as being at 0%. I will update this article to say how many extra pages I got after the ‘paper-clipping’ the drum. See below for the update.

(Of course you already know you can do a lot more printing from the toner cartridges than the printer actually says… don’t you? Maybe I should do another article with info on that, including the weights of full and empty toner cartridges…)

So how are we to get rid of the message?

We need our secret ingredient, a paper clip.

Open it out to get rid of the longer loop. We only need the shorter loop (you could use wire for the task but a paperclip seems to be exactly the right size). Snap off the longer loop by repeatedly bending the wire till it snaps, or use a pair of wire clippers.

Switch off the printer.

Take the OPC drum cartridge out of the printer and put it on a desk. In the top right corner you will see a fuse.

Lever the fuse out carefully with a biro.

If you examine it you will see it has no internal wire. What I think happens is that the printer passes a current over the fuse at a high enough current to blow the fuse. If current passes, the printer knows that a new cartridge has been inserted and it will restart it’s drum use counter. So we are going to place the fuse inside the inner loop of the paperclip. It will fit quite snugly.

Carefully put the fuse back into the holder, making sure that the paperclip loop is visible. The loop itself is held in place by the fuse which in turn is held in place by the fuse holder.

Look inside the printer. You can see the two copper strips used by the printer to touch the fuse ends. We are going to allow current to pass between the two strips using the paperclip loop, thereby fooling the printer into thinking we have fitted a new drum cartridge.

Put the OPC drum cartridge back into the printer and shut the printer top.

Power up the printer. After all the normal self tests have completed, together with any calibration, you will see that the ‘end of life’ message has gone.

Switch off the printer and remove the paperclip loop from the fuse. Place the fuse back into the holder and put the drum cartridge back into the printer and power the printer up.

You may now print again. Just make sure the document was really worth all the effort.

Dec 2012 Update:
So I managed to eek out another 13 months of life from the so called full OPC drum cartridge in which time I (or mostly my wife) printed more than 7800 extra pages!

The OPC drum cartridge was heavy when I removed it, weighing 1289g. That is all unused, waste toner for which you have paid a hefty price.

You know when it really is time to replace it because it will start to drop waste toner onto the toner cartridges and also onto the bar above the toner cartridges. When this dust settles on the bar (or on the electronic chip on the front face of the toner cartridges) it causes the ‘Toner Not Installed’ message to appear. You can almost always get rid of this message by cleaning the chip and the bar with a clean rag.

Remember that toner can be harmful, so you should always wash your hands, and wherever possible recycle the OPC drum (and toner cartridges). Konica Minolta have a very worthy return-to-base-postage-paid scheme. Personally I NEVER use re-manufactured cartridges in my printer but others may do so.

Apr 2014 Update:

Based on what ‘Troy’ commented, I thought I would try the tin foil solution and it is even easier than using a paperclip. make sure you have  reasonably chunky roll of foil so it is the same diameter as the fuse and then you can just slide it into the holder.

Here is a picture of both ‘implement’ types, but in future I will probably use the foil method:

Foil vs Paper Clip

(You can snip the end off the foil if it is too long for the fuse holder)

 

28 thoughts on “Konica Minolta magicolor 2430DL/2530DL drum cartridge end of life

  1. SurvivalWoman March 10, 2011 at 10:49 pm Reply

    So cool. This worked!

  2. Jon May 5, 2011 at 7:29 pm Reply

    THANKS A BUNCH. worked like a charm!

  3. Troy July 5, 2011 at 1:13 am Reply

    I couldn’t find a paperclip, so I rolled up some aluminum foil and stuck it in the fuse holder. I powered up, waited for it to say “Ready,” and then powered down, pulled out the foil, and put the old fuse back in. It worked great.

  4. Scott July 28, 2011 at 3:49 am Reply

    I was able to remedy by replacing the blown fuse with a new equivalent that I happened to have on hand. Very much appreciate the time that you took to document and share this info for everyone out here who owns an obsolete, unsupported printer. It was such a steal when I bought it brand new, it’s been difficult to deal with a faulty interface board. This printer has really been a work horse.

  5. Susan Shelton August 21, 2011 at 3:38 pm Reply

    This worked like a charm. Thank you for the detailed fix!

  6. opusus October 21, 2011 at 10:03 am Reply

    respect

  7. Sidnie O'Connell June 25, 2012 at 11:01 pm Reply

    Thanks Big R! Even with no experience in electronics, I was able to make it work. Just stuffed the clip and fuse in the holder and they held!
    P.S. A friend also suggested the foil alternative. Then another friend suggested that foil might not hold up as well… fire?? 🙂
    Thanks again! I love this printer!!

  8. BigR June 25, 2012 at 11:04 pm Reply

    Happy to be of assistance, now if only I could work out how to *consistently* get the printer to continue using non-empty toner cartridges it thinks are empty… setting the printer to continue on toner empty gets reset if you open the printer hood, and reset chips look expensive…

  9. jason@jayco2000.co.uk July 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm Reply

    Worked a charm! cheers.

  10. PhilW October 15, 2012 at 2:04 pm Reply

    It worked for me too. Thank you for sharing – I had never even thought about it, but at $110+ for a drum, this is a great financial help!

  11. Ann December 13, 2012 at 10:02 pm Reply

    are you saying, remove the paper clip as soon as you know the printer will again print? The paperclip theory worked but i dont want to jinx it by taking the clip out now ???

  12. Dave January 1, 2013 at 7:58 pm Reply

    You can empty the waste toner out of the drum and continue to use it. There is a little spring latch door on the drum that you can very easily open to empty the waste.

  13. BigR January 1, 2013 at 9:55 pm Reply

    Really… now that is interesting, but I guess you ought to wear gloves and a mask as this stuff probably isn’t good for lungs and skin. I will try this next time I have a full cartridge and post pictures as an update. Cheers!

    • Carl September 20, 2016 at 11:56 pm Reply

      Thanks for posting. I just wrapped my fuse with tin foil (about three turns) and shoved in back into the holder. Between that and dumping the toner, who knows how much more I will get out of my KM 2530DL?

      • BigR September 21, 2016 at 8:06 am

        I reckon you can get a fair bit more out of the toner cartridges. My own 2530DL is now assigned as a second printer and rarely gets used – I upgraded to a Xerox WorkCentre 6605 – very nice indeed.

  14. Niels January 3, 2013 at 9:21 pm Reply

    What a nice article! My printer says 2% left of drum life, but it has startet to make some 1-2 mm wide blank lines on the print, so I was going to buy a new drum. Have you seen same type of problem at the “end” of drum life?
    Tomorrow I will get some gloves and a mask, and then try to clean the drum first. I have made 9259 prints with this drum, so that is eventually quite good compared to your data.
    Thanks again!

  15. BigR January 3, 2013 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Yes I have seen this problem and it took me AGES to find the solution. It is NOT (well not in my case) a drum issue. Take the drum out and put it to one side. Look inside the empty space and to the bottom (South on a compass) you will see a glass plate. Clean this plate with a tissue and it will remove the bits of dirt that are stopping the toner from getting to the paper. It took me months before I finally realised this was the cause of my similar issues.

    You could empty the drum like “Dave” said… every penny saved is more to spend on toner!

    • Glenn March 16, 2014 at 4:40 am Reply

      BigR, I want to thank you for “the fix”. I have 2 2530DL’s that have both been printing with vertical white streaks. This evening I pulled the drum on one and saw the glass plate (spottily) covered in blue dust. As suggested, I wiped the glass with a tissue and cleaned the adjacent areas and it’s now printing pictures just like new. Cleaning was about a 10 minute process. (I took my time.) I have no doubt that the 2nd printer will also respond to the fix. Just wanted to let you know that your insight is appreciated.

  16. Bernhard January 7, 2013 at 6:35 pm Reply

    … what a perfect, easy help to continue with my good old 2530DL … THANK YOU

  17. geiger February 21, 2013 at 9:21 pm Reply

    Viueno

  18. xrayangiodoc March 12, 2013 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Excellent work! I just noticed that my drum life is now at 32% so I wanted to be a little proactive and find out what to do when the dreaded message popped up!

  19. Jbird April 17, 2013 at 3:16 pm Reply

    You do not even need to pull the fuse. Just slide a paper clip under it, it will hold no problem.

    Props for this fix. Easy easy easy…!

  20. Mark S May 5, 2013 at 4:11 pm Reply

    Very clever. Very easy. Works like a charm. I would imagine that you don’t need to replace the fuse as the printer is happy when the fuse is blown. You just won’t be able to do it again but I suspect that the drum is over 50% full.

  21. Jules October 3, 2013 at 9:15 am Reply

    Terrific stuff. However does this mean that you never need to replace the OPC drum?

  22. discountcopier November 7, 2013 at 7:24 am Reply

    Hi,
    I have read your blog.Its a nice one so your concern about the toner cartridge improper handling.I would like to thank you for that and appreciate your effort.Looking forward for more posts.

  23. bluemomwarrior October 27, 2014 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Now, would you think that someone would be commenting on your post almost a year later?! Well here I am and you have saved the day. I love my Konica Minolta and I’m not ready to junk it for those little whipper snapper, desktop sized models. I’m going to run, not jog to my garage and dust that baby off as I know she is loaded with color and it was just the toner I needed to replace. Now….where can I find the best prices for a replacement?

    Thank you so much!

  24. bluemomwarrior October 27, 2014 at 10:00 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on DestinyUnraveled and commented:
    Thanks to BigR’s Weblog I found a solution to get a few more pages out of my printer. Big meeting coming up and I need to have some paperwork handy. I love my Konica Minolta and she is worth every desktop sized printer I have owned and then some. So I am off! What a wonderful first blog post.

  25. Dave F June 2, 2017 at 11:07 am Reply

    Brilliant post! We have owned our 2430 for a number of years, the drum warning message has been displayed for the last few months and has finally displayed Drum End of Life. I have just emptied the drum as Dave suggested and temporary fitted the paper clip as Big R described and Lo and Behold we are up and printing again.With our low use this will probably last us years! Thanks Big R, Dave and previous commentors who gave me the confidence to try it.

Leave a Reply

